Bareface Challenge

This morning I was in a bit of a rush to get out the door and figured I’d save all of 5 minutes by doing my makeup in the car – except, of course, I forgot it all at home. And so I debated for the majority of my drive whether or not I should stop at a Walgreens to at least pick up mascara, which would make me late, or if I should just suck it up and get to work on time, bare faced.

I decided that I’m a grown woman and I need to be comfortable showing up places without a fresh face of makeup! But the fact that I had to dwell on it for at least 30 minutes got me thinking – why do I care so much about being seen in public without makeup?

One obvious answer is that today’s society is extremely image driven – especially when it comes to women – and that viewpoint has woven itself so tightly around my own that the two are nearly the same. On the red carpet, interviewers fawn over female celebs with questions like, “who are you wearing,” and “what did you do to prepare for tonight?” and those questions are answered with couture labels and massively unhealthy diets; while men get asked more serious questions about how they prepared for their role. Case in point: Kevin Spacey answering questions typically reserved for the ladies. And while I love knowing whom Mayim Bialik is wearing, I’m also obsessed with her wit and intellect, not to mention her Ph.D. in neuroscience – but none of those traits are amplified in the media. Instead, Perez Hilton focuses on the fact that her royal blue lace gown at the 2014 Emmy’s was more suitable for someone twice her age.

And yes, the media definitely has an impact on why I care so much about what other people think of me, the real answer, however hit me square in the face with this verse:

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” – 1 John 4:18

Wow – thanks God.

What do I do everyday out of fear? Fear that I won’t be accepted by my peers; fear that I won’t be seen as successful; fear of being left behind… All of those things, big or small, are clouding my ability to fully accept the love of Christ and the joy and rest that comes with it.

But perfect love drives out fear…

And so, I’ve decided to step out of my comfort zone and address those fears head-on, starting with a barefaced challenge. The challenge is simple – just don’t wear makeup to everyday events like work, school, the grocery store, hanging out with friends, etc. Instead of spending time in the morning covering my face with makeup, I’ll take a few moments to set my gaze on what actually matters.

Let’s see what happens!

no makeup challenge

Leave a Reply

